Main menu


Cartuja de Miraflores

This Carthusian monastery lies about three kilometers outdoor the historical town of Burgos. The constructing was at the start the searching inn and recreational palace of Henry III of Spain. The palace became restored through his son, King John II, and renovated once more at some point of the reign of Queen Isabella via renowned architects.

The Carthusian monastery is a gem of 15th-century Gothic structure. The monastery's remarkable Gothic church is one of the maximum essential monuments of Burgos and consists of the mausoleum of King John II and his wife Queen Isabella. Guided excursions are to be had in summer.

Take a Stroll on the Paseo del Espolón

Shaded by means of plane trees and lined with cafés and stores, the Paseo del Espolón is the fave prom of Burgos citizens. This pleasant pedestrian prom extends along the Río Arlanzón from the Puente de Santa María to the Puente de San Pablo, not some distance from Burgos Cathedral. The Museum of Evolution is also nearby, and simply steps from the prom, travelers will find la Casa de los Gigantillos, a small however fascinating museum providing larger-than-lifestyles figures representing cultures from round the arena.

Opposite the Paseo del Espolón, alongside the riverbanks, is a quiet garden of meadowland and banks of reeds filled with frogs, a honestly non violent pastoral scene. The Paseo del Espolón is a splendid location to take a day walk or relax on one of the park benches.

Visit the Churches of Burgos

Located inside the Plaza de San Juan is the Gothic Iglesia San Lesmes. The church turned into built in the 15th century to residence the remains of San Lesmes, purchaser saint of Burgos, who took care of pilgrims who stopped in the town on the "way of Saint James" trail to Santiago de Compostela in northern Spain. Within the 16th century, the church become renovated inside the architectural and decorative style of the era. Excursions of the church are available while mass is not in session.

One of the most beautiful Gothic churches in Burgos, Iglesia San Gil on Calle San Gil dates to the 14th century. The incredibly adorned interior has many chapels; the most noteworthy are the finely vaulted Nativity chapel and the Buena Mañana chapels. Excursions of the church are available before and after worship hours.

A short walk northeast of the Iglesia de San Nicolás is the Gothic Iglesia de San Esteban, constructed among 1280 to 1350. This historic church has an impressive facade with a richly sculptured west doorway. A lovely rose window illuminates the sanctuary, with ethereal mild filtered thru the stained glass. The church additionally has an thrilling Baroque retablo and a noteworthy Early Gothic cloister.

Catedral de Burgos A UNESCO World Heritage Site

At the foot of Burgos' fortress hill stands the UNESCO-indexed Cathedral of Burgos, a masterpiece of Spanish Gothic structure. The large quantity of sculptural ornament and grandiose proportions make this cathedral one of the most mind-blowing in Spain and the third biggest after the cathedrals of Seville and Toledo. Built from white limestone, the cathedral is renowned for its elegance and experience of concord.

Despite the fact that predominantly Gothic, the building exhibits different inventive styles that constitute later additions (creation turned into over an extended duration from 1221 to 1795). The cathedral's fundamental façade capabilities the Puerta del Perdón doorway with a gallery of statues of the Castile kings. Above the doorway is a lovely megastar-patterned rose window referred to as an estrellón. At the Puerta del Sarmental facade are the cathedral's maximum great sculptures, depicting figures of the apostles and evangelists.

The awe-inspiring indoors is prominent by using the dome of the primary nave, which functions a lovable dustéjar (Moorish-style) vault, and the sixteenth-century Italian Renaissance-style Escalera Dorada (Golden Staircase) by way of Diego de Siloé. Within the enormous sanctuary are 19 chapels in the aspect naves, and in the course of are precious altarpieces, art work, and sculptures. Inside the center of the nave is the lovely cimborio (lantern), a marvelous instance of Plateresque artwork, richly adorned with sculpture and coats of hands, a gilded balustrade, and great reliefs.

Behind the ambulatory is the 15th-century Capilla del Condestable (Constable's Chapel), any other example of ornate Plateresque style. The chapel houses the tombs of the Constable and his wife Doña Mencia de Mendoza, with real looking figures carved from Carrara marble. The Capilla de Santa Tecla (Chapel of Saint Thecla) is likewise noteworthy for its artworks. Make sure to peer the 13th-century claustro (cloister), which contains the monumental tombs of Ferdinand III and his spouse Beatrice of Swabia.

Monasterio de Santa María la Real de Las Huelgas

A ought to-see historical appeal, Las Huelgas is a medieval Cistercian monastery and Royal Pantheon of the Castile monarchs. The Monasterio de las Huelgas became at first a rustic residence of the kings of Castile. The Spanish phrase huelga manner "repose/relaxation." King Alfonso VIII and Queen Dona Leonor converted the building into a Cistercian convent for noble girls (descendants of the royal own family) in 1187 on the request of his spouse Eleanor, daughter of Henry II of britain.

The monastery exemplifies the austere architecture of the Cistercian order, with the church, the cloister, and the chapter house. The unique church of the 12th-century was built with a mudéjar Almohad fashion, reminiscent of the structure of Andalusia. This church is now the Chapel of the belief, which contrasts with the Romanesque cloister (Claustrillas) and Gothic additions constructed in the thirteenth century. The monastery additionally shows a set of precious medieval tapestries.

Arco de Santa María

Guarding and allowing entrance to the antique town, the Gate of Santa Maria stands at the give up of the Paseo del Espolón opposite the Puente de Santa María (bridge) spanning the Arlanzón River. The Arco de Santa María changed into originally constructed within the 14th century as a triumphal arch in honor of Emperor Carlos V. In 1552, the gate turned into renovated with the aid of Juan de Vallejo and Francisco de Colonia in Renaissance style.

The big arch is flanked by using two semicircular towers, giving it the appearance of a citadel. The gate capabilities statues of Castilian heroes and kings: in the center of the decrease row is Diego Porcelos, the city's founder, subsequent to Nuño Rasura and Lain Calvo, the first judges of Castile; in the higher row are the Cid, the Emperor Charles V, and be counted Fernán González.

Strolling via the arch, traffic will reach the Plaza del Rey San Fernando at the southern aspect of the cathedral. The indoors is often used to show temporary artwork exhibitions.